How do I use the partner university catalogues?

Partner University Course Catalogues

How do I use the Partner University Catalogues?

The Partner University catalogues list all the modules offered at that University. However, only a certain number will be taught in each semester - much the same as here at Keele. Class schedules detailing when exact modules will run usually become available from April onwards. This means that you may need to make provisional selections based on the previous year's catalogue.

When looking up your Principal Subjects in the Partner University Catalogues be aware that they may not be known by the same name as they are at Keele. It is unlikely, for instance, that you will find a School of "American Studies" or "International Relations". Similarly, the names of subject areas may well be different. For example:

  • English look under "Language & Literature"
  • Criminology look under "Justice" or "Criminal Justice"
  • Politics look under "Political Science", "Government & Politics", "Political Studies"
  • American Studies look for course listings under "History", "Literature", "English", "Politics", "Film Studies", "Popular Culture"
  • International Relations look at the Politics entries

Semester Exchange

When searching for your Modules, you need to ensure that your modules equate to 30 ECTS, this is considered a full course load.

Not all universities will list their modules in ECTs, see the guideline below:

  • US - 3 Credits - students only need to take 4 modules =12 Credits are required
  • Canada - 3 Credits - students only need to take 4 modules = 12 Credits are required
  • Australia - each university will vary, but usually, students will take between 4-5 modules
  • Japan - module weighting can vary from 2 credits to 8 credits, students need to take a maximum 14 credits for the semester
  • Asia - each university will vary, but usually, students will take between 4-5 modules
  • Europe - ECTS

International Year

You need to look at taking 40% of your modules related to your subject area. The remaining 60% can be complementary to your degree or for preparation for your future career path.

  • , Melbourne
  • , Perth
  • , Adelaide
  • , Brisbane
  • , Melbourne
  • , Quebec
  • , Ontario
  • , Montreal
  • , Nova Scotia
  • , Alberta
  • , Ontario
  • , Ontario
  • , Edmonton
  • , Ontario
  • , Ontario
  • , Toronto


Czech Republic